Cal-SOAP Advisory Committee

Reviews the activities and policies of the Cal-SOAP Program.

Mission Statement

"The mission of the Cal-SOAP Advisory Committee is to recommend to the Commission policies and programs to increase the participation rates and success of students who enter a postsecondary institution, and who, because of their economic and or academic circumstances, are unlikely to pursue college opportunities without academic, financial, and advisement assistance."

California Education Code Section 69562 states:
The Student Aid Commission shall establish a 12-member project grant advisory committee to advise project directors and the Commission on the development and operation of the projects, and consisting of the following:

  1. Three representatives of outreach programs, representing the University of California, the California State University, and the California Community College, appointed by their respective governing boards.
  2. One representative of private colleges and universities, appointed by the Association of California Independent Colleges and Universities.
  3. One representative of the California Postsecondary Education Commission, appointed by the commission.
  4. Two secondary school staff, appointed by the Superintendent of Public Instruction
  5. Two persons representing the general public, one appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly and the other by the Senate Rules Committee.
  6. Two postsecondary students, both appointed annually by the Postsecondary Education Commission.
  7. One college campus financial aid officer, appointed by the commission

Committee Members

Kathy Degn, Chair
California Community College Representative

Dr. Yvette Gullant
University of California Representative

Carolina Cardenas
California State University Representative

Robert E. Oakes
Independent California Colleges and Universities Representative

Dr. Stacy Wilson
California Postsecondary Education Commission Representative

Vacant 2
California Postsecondary Education Commission Student Representative

Dr. Steven Fischer
California Department of Education Representative

California Department of Education Representative

Assembly Speaker Representative

Angela Acosta
Senate Rules Committee Representative

California Student Aid Representative

Commission Liaison

Antonio (Tony) Solorzano

Staff Liaison

Kathleen Finnigan
Administration Manager